Why a Black Poppy Rose?  

Black PoppyRose (2)

Africa: Alhaji Grunshi of the Gold Coast Regiment shot

the 1st shot for Britain on 7th August 1915. 

The British West Indian Regiment (BWIR) joined the war

on the 15 November 1915 and  played a vital role. 

Selena Carty promotes the idea of people wearing a Black Poppy Rose, bot as a rival to the Red but as complement to recognise the contribution of people of African heritage in Britain’s Wars.

Selena explains:

I am a British born black woman, who has been exploring her heritage which leads me to the West Indies (Jamaica) Africa & Europe. Throughout my life in my homeland England I have felt that my history has been severely lacking. This has caused me to do something about it. So now I am bringing forward the BlackPoppyRose as a symbol of remembrance for African/Black people who wish to remember the history of our ancestors 100+ years ago during wars.’

She is seeking supporting  for this movement by asking people to wear a BlackPoppyRose this year in Remembrance of ALL the Africans who fought, contributed and sacrificed whether in battle or not.

The  PDF document shows  more about the BlackPoppyRose to get a feel of what she is trying to achieve.

Why A Black PoppyRose

Selena works with Narrative Eye and the Poppy project runs alongside its ‘Empire Needs Men’ exhibition – see

https://seancreighton1947.wordpress.com/2015/07/29/empire-needs-men-exhibition-dates

About seancreighton1947

Since moving to Norbury in July 2011 I have been active on local economy issues with Croydon TUC and Croydon Assembly, and am a member of the latter's Environment Forum. I am a member of the 5 Norbury Residents Associations Joint Planning Committee, and a Governor of Norbury Manor Primary School. I write for Croydon Citizen at http://thecroydoncitizen.com. I co-ordinate the Samuel Coleridge-Taylor and Croydon Radical History Networks and advise the North East People's History Project.. I give history talks and lead history walks. I retired in 2012 having worked in the community/voluntary sector and on heritage projects. My history interests include labour movement, mutuality, Black British, slavery & abolition, Edwardian roller skating and the social and political use of music and song. I have a particular interest in the histories of Battersea and Wandsworth, Croydon and Lambeth. I have a publishing imprint History & Social Action Publications.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

