Latest Black Cultural Archives exhibition & catalogue update

 

Selaisse Bust 3 - Copy

Bust of Haile Selassie 1 at Cannizaro House, Wimbledon Common West Side

To Saturday 10 September. Tuesdays to – Saturdays. 10am–5.30pm (last entry). Rastari in Motion

Exhibition telling the story of the presence of Emperor Haile Selassie I and the emergence of the Rastafari movement in Britain. It is 80 years ago that the Emperor appeared before the League of Nations following Mussolini’s invasion of Abyssinia (Ethiopia). He lived In Britain in exile, until the British helped expel the Italians, He had influence on the rising consciousness of Black youth from the 1960s onwards. First shown in Addis Ababa in 2014, it has most recently been in Jamaica. Free. Further details at:

http://bcaheritage.org.uk/programme/exhibitions/rastafari-in-motion

For talks associated with the exhibition and other BCA talks see

http://bcaheritage.org.uk/programme/tours-talks-and-walks

Black Cultural Archives Catalogue

A long term project of Black Cultural Archives has been listing its collections and putting them on a database for people to search the material they look after. The database can be seen at http://www.calmview.eu/BCA/CalmView/advanced.aspx?src=DServe.Catalog.

It includes the BASA collection which I organised deposit of when I was Secretary, and the papers I have personally submitted. The alphabetical listing of the collection can be seen at

 

About seancreighton1947

Since moving to Norbury in July 2011 I have been active on local economy issues with Croydon TUC and Croydon Assembly, and am a member of the latter's Environment Forum. I am a member of the 5 Norbury Residents Associations Joint Planning Committee, and a Governor of Norbury Manor Primary School. I write for Croydon Citizen at http://thecroydoncitizen.com. I co-ordinate the Samuel Coleridge-Taylor and Croydon Radical History Networks and advise the North East People's History Project.. I give history talks and lead history walks. I retired in 2012 having worked in the community/voluntary sector and on heritage projects. My history interests include labour movement, mutuality, Black British, slavery & abolition, Edwardian roller skating and the social and political use of music and song. I have a particular interest in the histories of Battersea and Wandsworth, Croydon and Lambeth. I have a publishing imprint History & Social Action Publications.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.