Life and Times of Cy Grant – 12 November

cy-grant

Saturday  12 November  2016  1 & 5pm  

The Cy Grant Trust  pays ‘tribute to Guyanese-born Cy Grant (1919-2010), whose rich and varied career included World War Two RAF service, film, music, drama, broadcasting (Cy was the first black celebrity to be featured regularly on British TV – notably the BBC’s Tonight programme), and work as a community activist. This special event will feature poetry, presentations and film clips from and about his life and work, plus live music courtesy of flautist Keith Waithe. The event also commemorates the 50th anniversary of Guyana’s independence. Guests include the High Commissioner of Guyana, Professor Kurt Barling, producer Terry Jervis and theatre director Yvonne Brewster OBE.’

Tickets £6.50. To book go to

https://www.evensi.uk/life-and-times-of-cy-grant-bfi-southbank/187192135

Event presented by Cy Grant Trust with support from the British Film Institute, London Metropolitan Archives, Windrush Foundation and Heritage Lottery Fund

About seancreighton1947

I have lived in Norbury since July 2011. I blog on Croydon, Norbury and history events,news and issues. I have been active on local economy, housing and environment issues with Croydon TUC and Croydon Assembly. I have submitted views to Council Committees and gave evidence against the Whitgift Centre CPO and to the Local Plan Inquiry. I am a member of Norbury Village Residents Association and Chair of Norbury Community Land Trust, and represent both on the Love Norbury community organisations partnership Committee. I used to write for the former web/print Croydon Citizen. I co-ordinate the Samuel Coleridge-Taylor and Croydon Radical History Networks and edit the North East Popular Politics history database. I give history talks and lead history walks. I retired in 2012 having worked in the community/voluntary sector and on heritage projects. My history interests include labour, radical and suffrage movements, mutuality, Black British, slavery & abolition, Edwardian roller skating and the social and political use of music and song. I have a particular interest in the histories of Battersea and Wandsworth, Croydon and Lambeth. I have a publishing imprint History & Social Action Publications.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment