Nubian Jak unveils plaque to Cy Grant on Armistice Remembrance Day

Cy Grant Plaque

On Saturday 11 November Nubian Jak Community and the Cy Grant Trusts Trust unveiled a plaque to Cy Grant on the house where he lived in Jacksons Lane, Highgate. The day was appropriate because Cy had been an RAF navigator in the Second World War, whose plane was shot down. He was a prisoner of war for two years. Cy was from Guyana.

100_1436

100_1428

Jak Beula of Nubian Jak Community Trust

100_1426

Gus John leads the African libation ritual

100_1429

Margaret Busby, co- founder Alison & Busby publishers

100_1432

Peter Ramrayka, Chair, City & Central London Branch

Royal Air Forces Association

100_1433

Mayor Stephen Mann, Haringey Council

100_1430

Catherine West, Labour MP Hornsey & Wood Green

I had the honour of being asked to say a few words.

cy grant 1

 

About seancreighton1947

I have lived in Norbury since July 2011. I blog on Croydon, Norbury and history events,news and issues. I have been active on local economy, housing and environment issues with Croydon TUC and Croydon Assembly. I have submitted views to Council Committees and gave evidence against the Whitgift Centre CPO and to the Local Plan Inquiry. I am a member of Norbury Village Residents Association and Chair of Norbury Community Land Trust, and represent both on the Love Norbury community organisations partnership Committee. I used to write for the former web/print Croydon Citizen. I co-ordinate the Samuel Coleridge-Taylor and Croydon Radical History Networks and edit the North East Popular Politics history database. I give history talks and lead history walks. I retired in 2012 having worked in the community/voluntary sector and on heritage projects. My history interests include labour, radical and suffrage movements, mutuality, Black British, slavery & abolition, Edwardian roller skating and the social and political use of music and song. I have a particular interest in the histories of Battersea and Wandsworth, Croydon and Lambeth. I have a publishing imprint History & Social Action Publications.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment