Nubian Jak unveils plaque to Phillis Wheatley 16 July

Wheatley Plaque

In June 1773, Phillis Wheatley visited England to begin the promotion of her soon to be published book – Poems on Various Subjects, Religious and Moral. In July 1773, she met the publishers, Archibald Bell Booksellers, to see the finished manuscript of what was to become the first book by an African (American) woman in English. The address of the publishers was 8 Aldgate, now the site of the Dorsett City Hotel.

For more about Phillis Wheatley see:

https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/phillis-wheatley

https://npg.si.edu/blog/phillis-wheatley-her-life-poetry-and-legacy

content

Courier Corporation (2012)

content (1)
University of Georgia Press (2014)

About seancreighton1947

I have lived in Norbury since July 2011. I blog on Croydon, Norbury and history events,news and issues. I have been active on local economy, housing and environment issues with Croydon TUC and Croydon Assembly. I have submitted views to Council Committees and gave evidence against the Whitgift Centre CPO and to the Local Plan Inquiry. I am a member of Norbury Village Residents Association and Chair of Norbury Community Land Trust, and represent both on the Love Norbury community organisations partnership Committee. I used to write for the former web/print Croydon Citizen. I co-ordinate the Samuel Coleridge-Taylor and Croydon Radical History Networks and edit the North East Popular Politics history database. I give history talks and lead history walks. I retired in 2012 having worked in the community/voluntary sector and on heritage projects. My history interests include labour, radical and suffrage movements, mutuality, Black British, slavery & abolition, Edwardian roller skating and the social and political use of music and song. I have a particular interest in the histories of Battersea and Wandsworth, Croydon and Lambeth. I have a publishing imprint History & Social Action Publications.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment